

Elizabeth G. Loboa, Ph. D. Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Office of the Provost

August 25, 2022

Dear Colleagues:

I write to ask you to serve on the Search Committee for the Dean of the SMU Lyle School of Engineering. The Search Committee will be comprised of representatives from members of the Lyle School's Executive Board, faculty, staff and undergraduate and graduate students. I am pleased to announce that Sam Holland, Dean of the Meadows School of the Arts, has agreed to serve Chair of the committee.

The search for the Dean of the Lyle School of Engineering will be assisted by Greg Esposito, Partner of Isaacson, Miller. Greg focuses primarily on higher education leadership roles in public and private institutions, includin g presidents, provosts, vice presidents, deans, and directors. Since joining Isaacson, Miller in 2010, he has completed several university leadership searches, filling president, chancellor, provost, and a variety of dean roles. His work has included several dean searches for business schools, colleges of veterinary medicine, and schools of engineering.

Please contact Lauren Kelly at <u>laurenkelly@smu.edu</u>by Monday, August 29, 2022, to let me know if you agree to serve on this important committee. Attached for review is the full list of invited committee members. At the first mandatory meeting of the committee, I will provide the charge to the members. A calendar invite with meeting I ogistics will follow.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth G. Loboa, PhD

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Southern Methodist University

https://www.smu.edu/provost



DEAN SEARCH COMMITTEE LYLE SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

Sam Holland (Chair)
Dean, Meadows School of he Ars
sholland@mail.smuedu

Khaled Abdelghany

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

DEAN SEARCH COMMITTEE LYLE SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

Art George

Member, Lie School of Engineering Exctive Board Exrnal EngagementPartner, The George DevelopmentGrop algeorgejr@gmail.com

Kathy Hubbard

AssistantDean of DiversityEqityand Inclaion khbbard@lle.smuedu

MinJun Kim

Professor, RobertC. Womack Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering mjkim@lke.smuedu

Eric Larson

Associate Professor in Compter Science eclarson@lte.smuedu

Wally Rhines

Member, Lie School of Engineering Excive Board Presidentand CEO, Cornami, Inc. wallyrhines@gmail.com_

Richard Schulze

Member, Lie School of Engineering Excive Board Secretary -Treasurer, Ahena Grop, Inc., Fonder, Trinit Constant, Inc. r.schle1933@gmail.com

Janille Smith-Colin

AssistantProfessor, Civil and Environmental Engineering jsmihcolin@mail.smuedu

DEAN SEARCH COMMITTEE LYLE SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

Halit Uster

Professor, Operatons Research and Engineering Management ser@lke.smuedu

Paula Voyles

AssistantVice Presidentof School and ProjectDevelopment Development and Exmal Affairs

pvoles@mail.smuedu